Entertainment/Media, politics

Preconcieved notions.

The most reasonable first-substance post for me to do is to outline my biases before I start typing in more specifics.

One of my pet peeves is when journalists think that being unbiased is possible and ideal. It’s not. Everyone brings with them formed ideas of how they think they world should be; just like the story about the judge who lost all but the rational part of his thinking, the emotional bits that cause in us biases large and small help us shape the world. Without them, we would be without the ability to create any sort of norm, or make any decisions. We internalize those small emotional queues to make every decision we do. The judge, who everyone thought would become better after losing his emotion, was horrible because he could no longer make the distinction between good and bad. Using just the facts given in the case he could logically understand the circumstances, but could not decipher any moral lines to call the defendants guilty or innocent.

As in that case, journalists who claim independence from their biases would not make good journalists. Giving just the facts would be completely confusing, nonsensical, and irresponsible. Portraying a story and a journalist as free from prejudice is also deceptive. (My biggest issue with Fox News isn’t that they’re part of the right wing media, but that they don’t take responsibility for it, and try to hide the evidence.)

For me, politically, I am a far left pragmatist. I find the Communist ideal hopeful, and its practice lacking.  I don’t understand why European political systems of social democracies are seen as insulting (the people seem pretty happy and free to me), and as much as I find the American system fascinating and illuminating, it has major flaws.  Another one of my pet peeves is the wrong use of patriotism (pride in one’s government) with nationalism (pride in one’s nation), which America is quite guilty of.  I would love to see the day when there is global peace and true choice in one’s type of lifestyle, without coercion in forceful or subtle ways.

I would consider myself a politico. Although I live in Washington State as a student, I would love nothing more than to work in Washington DC and be immersed in the culture.  There is a great sense of energy, power, and history in those few city blocks.  You can feel the world-changing decisions being made in all the walls. It’s exhilarating.

Far left pragmatist sound a little contradictory.  I have far left ideals, but I’m willing to work them through in practical terms in the context of the present day. I’m willing to accept the small changes while we work toward bigger goals. I want understanding to exist between two different groups and stereotypes to fall by the wayside when trying to compromise. I find extremists insulting and self-righteous, even when we agree.

I don’t believe in demonizing or idolizing political leaders, past or present. There is much to be admired and respected about these men (and women, but let’s fact the facts, they’re mostly men), but that shouldn’t lead to blind faith. I think celebrity culture to be frightening (even if I buy into it every now and again). I think most leaders did what they thought was best, whether or not that was the case, and should be considered in such contexts. (Obvious exceptions apply, but not in a complete black-and-white nature. I’m a moral relativist.)

I was raised by two immigrants who strive for me success not in monetary sums but fulfillment in life, and for that I am eternally grateful.

On a lighter note, I’m a little bit of a geek. I want to work in the political arena, but I also have a strong interest in all things technology (especially web design and typography).  I’m not completely well-versed in the inner-workings of a computer, but I’m taking baby steps.  I adore pop culture in its quality forms, and am quite particular about what I consider quality. I love many things on Stuff White People Like although I am not genetically Caucasian, I was raised in a mostly white area, which was also quite left on the political spectrum.  There will be a time and place to discuss some of my favorite aspects of pop culture another night.

Related links
Emotions in Decision Making (wikipedia)

*Note: I do not believe all news outlets or journalists show idelogical biases. Usually they seem to favor sensationalist stories, etc. They are for-profit entities after all.

Standard

Leave a Reply

