Uncategorized

I deserve a Peace prize too.

Not really.

Tomorrow I’ll write about my busier-than-usual weekend (Seattle, Portland, concert, shopping, movie!), but right now I’m going through my NYT emails from the week (remember my cycles of attention?), and the last day I didn’t go through the emails was the day President Obama was announced as the Nobel Peace Prize winner.


{Photo credit: The White House Official Flickr}

When I woke up to the news that President Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize a few weeks ago I was puzzled. Time has moved so quickly since he was inaugurated January 20th on a freezing winter day in D.C. It has taken me until this week to truly accept that it might even be deserved.

What swayed me most, and what I want to share is this “Common Myths about the Nobel Peace Prize” from the Associated Press (emphasis mine):

Myth: The prize is awarded to recognize efforts for peace, human rights and democracy only after they have proven successful.

Fact: More often, the prize is awarded to encourage those who receive it to see the effort through, sometimes at critical moments.

Added to the fact that most world leaders are accepting of this recognition, his humble acceptation, and a Nobel judge’s statement post-controversy, I am resigned to the fact that this isn’t just about America.

The troubles swirling in the states has taken some of the excitement away for us Americans, both on the right and the left.

I also don’t see it as a repudiation of President Bush (43). I think it’s hard to ignore the fact that President Obama is a compelling figure. The judges aren’t apolitical and never claim to be.

Of course all of this was before the hoopla surrounding the now-known-as-a-hoax balloon boy. So, really, relative to that, the Obama-Nobel story is hard news.

Standard

Leave a Reply

