Uncategorized

BLOG ACTION… A week late.

I signed up for Blog Action Day which was last Thursday. I didn’t get around to writing a post about climate change, so here’s my late entry! Since it’s 350 Day, it seems fitting anyway.

[Little] Things I Do To Make the World [A Little] Greener

01/ Walk around in the dark ; I avoid turning on the lights as much as possible. I turn off the light when I leave a room. I will stumble around my house, arms out, to avoid turning on and off the light. It’s not as difficult as you might imagine. Most people know the general layout of their homes pretty well. You’d be surprised.

02/ Shop second hand ; I also only buy second hand leather. It’s always more accomplishing to find something someone else didn’t want that is still fabulous than hulling hundreds for designer wear. At least for your wallet. ADDITION: Use your own bag!

03/ Go veg ; I fib. I still eat seafood (which makes me pescotarian). And I’m going to eat meat when I study abroad next semester. But cutting back on meat and animal products is one of the most efficient ways for you to be greener!

04/ Use a reusable water bottle and carry around travel mugs for coffee/tea ; I will avoid getting tea or coffee at the cafe if I don’t have my travel mug.

05/ Have crafty time ; Reusing is superior to recycling. Make a day out of it and use that extra paper, plastic, jars and make something!

06/ Unplug electric devices if you can ; Those suckers still suck out energy even when they’re off!

07/ Use blankets ; Set your thermostat a few degrees colder and just walk around with a blanket around your shoulders. Better yet, just layer up. Or buy a Snuggie! 😉

My favorite numbers are 4 and 7, so I like to end on those, or variations thereof.

No pictures because I am lazy.

Standard

Leave a Reply

